DigimonCardGame Wiki
Advertisement

Using (Japanese: 使用 Shiyō) is an action you can perform that refers to using Option cards. The action can also be performed by effects.

How to Use

Using is an action you do in the following order:

  1. Choose an Option card from your hand that you wish to use and reveal it.
    • If its Use Cost would put the memory over 10 on the opponent's side you cannot choose that Option card.
    • If you do not have a Digimon or Tamer in the Breeding Area or Battle Area with the same colour you cannot choose that Option card.
      • Option cards with 2 colours require both colours.
      • White Options are not excluded from this condition.
      • Some Option cards have effects that allow the colour requirement to be ignored.
  2. Effects that specify "when you would use" are triggered and activated at this time.
    • In Japanese it will be "when using", some English cards used a literal translations instead of the Detailed Rulebook Standardisation.
    • These effects would have to be Interruptive Effects to trigger and activate at this time.
  3. Pay the newly reduced memory cost.
  4. Trigger any "when an Option" is used effects. But immediately activate the Option card's effects (typically [Main] effects).

Important Notes

  • Activating the [Security] effect of an Option card is not considered "using an Option".
  • Activating the <Delay> effect of an Option card is not considered "using an Option".

An Option card is only considered "used" if the above process has been followed.

Rulings

  1. Q: Can I use effects from Digimon, Tamers, and Options on Digimon in my breeding area
    A: No, you can't. Digimon in breeding areas aren't affected by card effects, and can't activate effects themselves.
  2. Q: I play an Option card, and paying the play cost results in my memory counter moving to 1 on my opponent's side. Does the Option card's effect activate?
    A: Yes, it does. After resolving the effect on the card you paid for, and resolving effects resulting from that card, it becomes your opponent's turn.
  3. Q: When an option card is checked from my security, can its [Security] effect activate even if I don't meet all the colour requirements?
    A: Yes, [Security] effects activate regardless of colour requirements.
  4. Q: When I activate an effect that says "return a blue option card from my trash to my hand", can I return a blue + green option card to my hand?
    A: Yes, you can.
  5. Q: I only have blue digimon or Tamer in my battle area and breeding area, and I activate an effect that lets me use a blue option card from my hand. Can I use a blue + green option card from my hand with the effect?
    A: No, as the effect does not say "Ignore the colour requirements", you must still fulfil the colour requirements to use an option card, even with effects.
  6. Q: If I activate the <Delay> effect on an Option card in my battle area, does it count as using an Option card?
    A: No. Activating the <Delay> effect on an Option card in your battle area doesn't count as using an Option card. As such, activating a <Delay> effect doesn't activate the effects on cards like [BT3-091 Lilithmon] or [BT3-096 Mimi Tachikawa].

Sources

Advertisement