DigimonCardGame Wiki
Advertisement


Security Attack Icon

Security Attack (セキュリティアタック Sekyuritiatakku) is a continuous/passive effect keyword introduced in ST-1: Starter Deck Gaia Red, ST-2: Starter Deck Cocytus Blue, and ST-3: Starter Deck Heaven's Yellow. It is indicated by an image with "Security Attack" followed by a plus or minus sign and number.

How it Works

A Digimon with any "Security Attack" effect would check additional or fewer security cards when attacking a player's security depending on the number denoted in the "Security Attack" effect.

  • <Security Attack +1> would check 2 security cards when attacking a player's security.
  • <Security Attack +2> would check 3 security cards when attacking a player's security.
  • <Security Attack -1> would check 0 security cards when attacking a player's security.

"Security Attack" effects can stack, so if a Digimon receives <Security Attack -3> and then <Security Attack +2> twice, that Digimon would have a total of <Security Attack +1>.

Rulings

  1. Q: I attack my opponent's security stack with a Digimon with <Security Attack +1>. The first card checked is a Security Digimon, which my Digimon loses to in battle. Do I still perform the remaining security checks?
    A: If your attacking Digimon is deleted, returned to hand, or otherwise leaves play, the attack ends, and no further checks are performed.
  2. Q: If a Digimon has multiple <Security Attack +1>, do their effects stack?
    A: Yes, they do. The Digimon will check cards equal to the total.
  3. Q: I have a Digimon with <Security Attack -1> and no other effects to increase its security checks. If I attack my opponent's security stack with it, do I check any of my opponent's security cards?
    A: No, the Digimon's security check is zero. No checks are performed.
  4. Q: I attack my opponent's security stack with a Digimon with <Security Attack +1> as an inherited effect, and the first card checked is [ST2-14 Hammer Spark]. Its [Security] effect moves the memory counter to the opponent's side. Do I still perform the remaining security checks?
    A: Yes, you do. It doesn't become your opponent's turn until the attack is completely resolved.
  5. Q: I attack my opponent's security stack with a Digimon with <Security Attack +1> as an inherited effect, and the first card checked is [ST3-15 Holy Flame]. Its [Security] effect gives my attacking Digimon <Security Attack -1>. Do I still perform the remaining security checks?
    A: No, <Security Attack -1> cancels out your Digimon's <Security Attack +1>. You no longer have the right to make additional checks.
  6. Q: I attack my opponent's security stack with a Digimon with <Security Attack +1> as an inherited effect,and the first card checked is [BT1-101 Howling Crusher]. Its [Security] effect trashes a digivolution card under my attacking Digimon with <Security Attack +1>. Do I still perform the remaining security checks?
    A: No, after the cards are trashed, the <Security Attack +1> effect is immediately lost. No further checks are performed.
  7. Q: A Digimon with no effects granting additional security attacks gets <Security Attack -3>. If I attack my opponent's security stack with this Digimon, how many security cards do I check?
    A: A Digimon can't have negative security checks, but in this case, the number of checks performed is zero. Additionally, if a Digimon with multiple <Security Attack -X> effects attacks the security stack, your opponent doesn't add security cards to it.
  8. Q: A Digimon with no effects granting additional security attacks gets <Security Attack -3>. If it then gets <Security Attack +1>, how many security checks does it make?
    A: <Security Attack +1> negates part of <Security Attack -3>, but the end result is still -2, so even if the Digimon successfully attacks the opponent's security stack, no checks are performed.

Other Rulings

  1. Q: If a Digimon is checking Security with <Security Attack +1> and the opponent only has 1 Security card. Do I win the game?
    A: No, you do not. The attack ends when you have no more security cards to check.
  2. Q: If a Digimon has <Security Attack -1> or less, Can I win if it attacks a player with no security?
    A: No, you would not win the game by attacking with that Digimon.
  3. Q: I have 1 card in my security stack. My opponent attacks me with a Digimon with <Security Attack +1>, and flips over a card that <Recovery +1 (Deck)> from its [Security] effect. After adding a card to my empty security stack. Does my opponent continue the security check?
    A: Yes, they continue by checking the card that was added to your security stack.
  4. Q: What happens when my Digimon with <Security Attack +1> Digimon gets de-digivolved?
    A: You would calculate the new total of the Digimon and compare it to what Security Checks that have already taken place. If it still has the <Security Attack +1> because it was given by an effect, you can perform the security check. If it no longer has it, you can no longer perform the security check. (See more in Attack Resolution)
  5. Q: What happens if my Digimon gains additional <Security Attack +1> while checking security?
    A: You would recalculate the Security Attak after each Security Check, and if there are still remaining Security Checks to be made you continue checking. (See more in Attack Resolution)

Sources

Advertisement