DigimonCardGame Wiki
Advertisement


Piercing Icon

Piercing (貫通Kantsū) is a triggered effect keyword introduced in BT-01: Booster New Evolution and BT01-03: Release Special Booster Ver.1.0. It is indicated by "Piercing" on an orange background.

How it Works

An attacking Digimon with <Piercing> performs a security check on the opponent's security after defeating an opponent's Digimon and all other effects have resolved. It must be on the field to perform the security checks. The Digimon must be the Digimon currently performing an attack in order to use <Piercing>.

When Does Piercing trigger and activate?

<Piercing> triggers when "it (the Digimon with <Piercing>) deletes an opponent's Digimon in battle and survives" which is when other "deleted by/in battle" would normally trigger. You then activate the <Piercing> as normal. However, activating <Piercing> does not perform the security checks. The Security Checks are instead performed after all other effects have resolved. Since Digimon have to be in the battle area to perform security checks if the Digimon leaves the battle area between the time it activates and the time the Security Checks would happen, the security checks can no longer happen.

Example 1

  1. [BT5-086 Omnimon] attacks [BT2-074 Devimon] while it has <Piercing> from [BT3-016 Durandamon], [BT2-074 Devimon] is deleted in battle.
  2. Both <Piercing> and [BT2-074 Devimon]'s effect trigger. Resolve both effects before performing security checks.
    1. Turn Player activates <Piercing> first, it successfully resolves for it to allow Security Checks after all other effects have resolved.
    2. [BT2-074 Devimon]'s <Retaliation> effect activates to try and delete Omnimon. Omnimon prevents its deletion by trashing [BT3-016 Durandamon].
  3. Omnimon can now perform Security Checks because <Piercing> successfully activated, and is still on the field even if it lost the <Piercing> effect.

Example 2

  1. [ST4-13 HerculesKabuterimon] attacks [BT5-112 Omnimon Zwart Defeat] while it has [ST4-11 MegaKabuterimon] in its digivolution cards. [BT2-074 Devimon] is deleted in battle.
  2. <Piercing>, [ST4-11 MegaKabuterimon]'s [Your Turn], and [BT5-112 Omnimon Zwart Defeat]'s [On Deletion] trigger at the same time. Resolve all effects.
    1. Turn Player can choose to activate <Piercing> or [ST4-11 MegaKabuterimon]'s [Your Turn] first. Turn Player chooses <Piercing>, Security Checks wait until all effects have resolved.
    2. Turn player activates [ST4-11 MegaKabuterimon]'s [Your Turn] and trashes the top card of the opponent's security.
    3. [BT5-112 Omnimon Zwart Defeat]'s [On Deletion] deletes [ST4-13 HerculesKabuterimon].
  3. Security Checks that were allowed by <Piercing> would happen at this time. However, since [ST4-13 HerculesKabuterimon] is no longer in the battle area the security checks can no longer be performed.

Rulings

  1. Q: My Digimon with <Piercing> deletes an opponent's Digimon in battle, leading to a security check. If a Digimon card is revealed from the security stack, does a battle occur?
    A: Yes, you battle Security Digimon the same way you would if you attacked the security stack normally.
  2. Q: When battling Security Digimon with <Piercing>, do any effects received from the preceding battles persist?
    A: It depends on the effect. Effects that read "If you attack one of your opponent's Digimon..." don't persist, as Security Digimon aren't considered normal Digimon.
  3. Q: My Digimon with <Piercing> deletes an opponent's Security Digimon in battle. Does <Piercing> allow me to make further security checks?
    A: No, battles with Security Digimon don't activate <Piercing>.
  4. Q: I have a Digimon with <Piercing> and <Security Attack +1>. I use it to attack and delete an opponent's Digimon. Do I check an extra security card thanks to <Security Attack +1>?
    A: Yes, you do.
  5. Q: I have a Digimon with <Piercing> and <Security Attack -1>. I use it to attack and delete an opponent's Digimon. Do I perform a security check?
    A: No, <Security Attack -1> reduces the Digimon's securitychecks to zero. No security check is performed.
  6. Q: I attack my opponent using a Digimon with <Piercing>. It's blocked by a Digimon with <Blocker>. If my Digimon deletes the opponent's Digimon in battle, does <Piercing> activate?
    A: Yes, it does.
  7. Q: If I attack and delete an opponent's Digimon using a Digimon with <Piercing>, and my opponent's security stack is empty, do I win the game?
    A: No, <Piercing> only performs security checks. If your opponent's security stack is empty, nothing happens.

Other Rulings

  1. Q: If I delete an opponent's Digimon with <Retaliation> in battle, does this fulfill the condition for <Piercing>?
    A: No, <Retaliation> causes both Digimon to be deleted, so while even though <Piercing> was activated and resolved. Digimon that are not on the field cannot perform the security checks "as normal". (See more in Attack Resolution)
  2. Q: If I lose <Piercing> after it deleted an opponent's Digimon in battle, does it still fulfill the condition for <Piercing>?
    A: Yes, <Piercing> fulfilled its conditions. As long as the Digimon remains on the field to perform the security checks it can perform them.
  3. Q: If I have an effect that says "when this Digimon would be deleted... X to prevent the deletion" and X causes the Digimon to gain <Piercing>, would <Piercing> trigger?
    A: Yes, "when would be deleted" happens before the <Piercing> would trigger.
  4. Q: If I have an effect that says "when this Digimon would be deleted... X to prevent the deletion" and X causes the Digimon to lose <Piercing>, would <Piercing> trigger?
    A: No, "when would be deleted" happens before the <Piercing> would trigger and activate.

Sources

Advertisement