DigimonCardGame Wiki
Advertisement

Memory (Japanese: メモリー Memorī) is the resource system used by the Digimon Card Game. It is used to pay costs in order to play cards. It is also used in order to determine when a turn will swap over. Both players are meant to know what the memory gauge is currently.

General Demonstration on Paying Memory Costs

General Demonstration on Paying Memory Costs

Rulings

  1. Q: If a card has a play/use cost of 11 or more, can I use it if your memory gauge is at zero?
    A: No. From zero, you will only be able to move your memory counter to 10 on your opponent's side, but you need to move it to 11.
  2. Q: If a card effect gives me more than 10 memory, what happens?
    A: You can't have more than 10 memory. Any memory exceeding 10 is lost.
  3. Q: I play a Digimon with an [On Play] effect or digivolve a Digimon with an [When Digivolving] effect, and paying the play/digivolve cost results in my memory counter moving to 1 my opponent's side. Does my Digimon's [On Play] or [When Digivolving] effect activate?
    A: Yes, it does. After resolving the effect on the card you paid for, or resolving effects resulting from that card, it becomes your opponent's turn.
  4. Q: I play an Option card, and paying the play/digivolve cost results in my memory counter moving to 1 on my opponent's side. Does the Option card's effect activate?
    A: Yes, it does. After resolving the effect on the card you paid for, or resolving effects resulting from that card, it becomes your opponent's turn.
  5. Q: Can this Digimon attack when I have less than 2 memory?
    A: Yes, it can. Even if this Digimon's attack effect causes your memory to move to 1 or greater on your opponent's side, it doesn't become your opponent's turn until the end of the attack.1
  6. Q: I attack my opponent's security stack with a Digimon with <Security Attack +1> as an inherited effect, and the first card checked is [ST2-14 Hammer Spark]. Its [Security] effect moves the memory counter to the opponent's side. Do I still perform the remaining security checks?
    A: Yes, you do. It doesn't become your opponent's turn until the attack is completely resolved.
  7. Q: If paying a card's cost resulted in the memory counter being placed at 1 or above on my opponent's side. However, an effect allowed me to gain 3 memory, putting the memory counter at 0 or above on my side. When this happens, does the turn end?
    A: No, even if the memory counter moves to 1 or greater on your opponent's side temporarily, if by resolving other effects, the memory counter moves back to 0 or greater on your side, your turn may continue.2
  8. Q: I have an effect that gives me memory after I played a card putting the memory at 1 or more on my opponent's side. Whose turn is it?
    A: It only changes turns after all effects and battles have resolved.3
  9. Q: I am at 0 memory, I have a card that would normally cost 11 or more memory. However, it has a condition that reduces its play cost to below 10 memory. If the condition is fulfilled, can I play this card?
    A: Yes, its play cost has been reduced so you can play this card.4

Sources

  1. Card Rulings:ST1-06, Card Rulings:ST2-07, Card Rulings:ST3-07
  2. Card Rulings:BT3-019
  3. Card Rulings:BT3-030
  4. Carddass Email English 19/10/2021: BlackWarGreymon 0 Memory
Advertisement