DigimonCardGame Wiki
Advertisement

Please use updated rulesets in games from the Rulings pages. This page is here for historical purposes only.

This page lists the rulings that were changed at some point in time. These rulings are no longer in effect.

Rulebook Version 2 Update

As of April 2021, there was an update to the Japanese Rulebook. This altered the way Effect Resolution and Attack Resolution was performed. Below are rulings that were changed due to the update. The English Rulebook was updated to follow the Japanese Rulebook in July 2021.

De-Digivolve Rulings

  1. Q: My opponent attacks with a level 7 Digimon that has [BT3-064 TiaLudomon] in its digivolution cards and uses its effect to <De-Digivolve> my Digimon with <Blocker> into one without <Blocker>. Can I still block with the Digimon it was de-digivolved into?
    A: Yes, you can because <Blocker>'s condition has already been met and "this Digimon" still refers to the newly De-Digivolved Digimon. So you can suspend that Digimon to block.
  2. Q: My opponent attacks with a level 7 Digimon that has [BT3-064 TiaLudomon] in its digivolution cards and uses its effect to <De-Digivolve> my Digimon without <Blocker> into one with <Blocker>. Am I able to Block with the Digimon?
    A: No, you can't. If there is no <Blocker> when the declares an attack, <Blocker> cannot be activated.
  3. Q: I attack with a level 7 Digimon that has [BT3-064 TiaLudomon] in its digivolution cards and uses its effect to de-digivolve a [BT1-082 Rosemon]. Can my opponent use Rosemon's effect?
    A: Yes, it can. The effect condition of [BT1-082 Rosemon] was met and "this Digimon" refers to the newly De-Digivolved Digimon, if the newly De-Digivolved Digimon is suspended you can activate Rosemon's effect.
  4. Q: I attack with a level 7 Digimon that has [BT3-064 TiaLudomon] in its digivolution cards and uses its effect to de-digivolve a level 7 Digimon into [BT1-082 Rosemon]. Can my opponent use Rosemon's effect?
    A: No, it cannot. The [BT1-082 Rosemon] did not have the effect when the effect condition was met "to declare an attack on the player". So it cannot be used.

Sources

Rosemon (BT1-082)

  1. Q: I play [ST3-16 Seven Heavens] to give -10,000 DP to the opponent's rested Rosemon. Then my [ST3-11 Seraphimon] attacks player. Both Seraphimon and Rosemon skills trigger at the same time [When Attacking] Seraphimon -4000 DP to Rosemon, killing it. Can Rosemon still rest an opponent's Digimon?
    A: Rosemon's condition of "If this Digimon is at rest" is no longer fulfilled, so Rosemon cannot rest your other Digimon.
  1. Q: My opponent attacks with a level 7 Digimon that has [BT3-064 TiaLudomon] in its digivolution cards and uses its effect to <De-Digivolve> my [BT1-082 Rosemon]. Can I still use Rosemon's effect?
    A: Yes, it can. The effect condition of [BT1-082 Rosemon] was met and "this Digimon" refers to the newly De-Digivolved Digimon, if the newly De-Digivolved Digimon is suspended you can activate Rosemon's effect.

Sources

ShineGreymon (BT2-041)

  1. Q: Does this card's -4,000 DP effects activate as one effect or multiple effects? Do they activate in the same timing as each other or separate?
    A: This card's effect to rest Tamers activates in the [When Digivolving] timing. The -4000 effects then activate as separate effects.

Sources

VenomMyotismon (BT2-079)

  1. Q: My opponent attacks and activates an effect that <De-Digivolve> on my Level 7 Digimon that becomes a [BT2-079 VenomMyotismon]. Can I use VenomMyotismon's effect?
    A: No, you can not. The effect of this card was not effective when the attack was declared (which caused the Digimon to suspend), so it cannot be activated.
  1. Q: My opponent attacks and activates an effect that <De-Digivolve> on my [BT2-079 VenomMyotismon]. Can I use VenomMyotismon's effect?
    A: Yes, you can.

Sources

Mummymon (BT3-086) & Arukenimon (BT3-087)

  1. Q: I attack with this card, and use its [When Attacking] effect to play [MaloMyotismon]. This Digimon is then deleted, but can I still activate any [When Attacking] inherited effects on this card?
    A: Yes, you can. However, effects that can't be resolved unless the Digimon that activated them are in play, like "unsuspend this Digimon," can't be activated. (From QA Pack 03)

Sources

Lilithmon (BT3-090)

  1. Q: I activate [BT2-109 Heat Viper] to destroy Lilithmon and my opponent's Digimon. Does Lilithmon's effect activate?
    A: Yes Lilithmon's effect activates, Lilithmon's effect activates when you use option. It is queued on the activation of the option.
  2. Q: I activate [BT4-100 Trident Revolver] with Lilithmon on board, I played a Tamer with a [On Play] effect and deleted a Digimon with an [On Deletion] effect. What effects go first?
    A: After resolving [BT4-100 Trident Revolver] Lilithmon's effect triggered first and goes first. Next the [On Play] and [On Deletion] triggered at the same time, the turn player chooses their [On Play] effect to go first. The opposing player then uses [On Deletion].

Sources

MaloMyotismon (BT3-092)

  1. Q: If this Digimon attacks an opponent's Digimon and both Digimon end up being deleted, can I gain a memory off this card's effect?
    A: Yes, your opponent's Digimon was deleted, so you gain a memory. This is because even though both Digimon are deleted at the same time, the effect is triggered at the same time.
  2. Q: My opponent attacks with a level 7 Digimon with [BT3-064 TiaLudomon] and [BT2-013 Growlmon]. What happens?
    A: If your opponent first <De-Digivolve 1> this card with [BT3-064 TiaLudomon], this card has already moved to the trash, so even if you delete the Digimon with the effect of [BT2-013 Growlmon], and the effect of MaloMyotismon does not activate. If your opponent uses [BT2-013 Growlmon] before [BT3-064 TiaLudomon], you can use MaloMyotismon as it has already been triggered.

Sources

Xiaomon (BT4-006)

  1. Q: When I have 10 or more cards in Trash, and my Digimon with this card as a digivolution card was deleted in battle. Then while resolving my other effects of the same timing first, it resulted in me having 9 or less cards in Trash. Does this card's <Retaliation> effect still activate?
    A: Yes, as you had 10 or more cards in Trash at the point of time when that Digimon was deleted, this card’s inherited effect is valid so the <Retaliation> activates.

Sources

Tankdramon (BT4-071)

  1. Q: When I have 2 of this Digimon in my Battle Area, and both are deleted at the same time by my opponent's effects, do the [On Deletion] effect of both of them activate?
    A: Yes, as both Digimon's condition of “When your other [D-Brigade] type Digimon are Deleted” are met, both effects activate.

Sources

NeoDevimon (BT4-084)

  1. Q: I have a [BT1-086 Matt Ishida] in play. My opponent has a Digimon with [BT4-084 NeoDevimon] in its digivolution cards. I play a Blue Digimon and then use Matt's effect to remove NeoDevimon from its sources. Can the effect of NeoDevimon be used?
    A: Yes, it can be activated because it has met its trigger conditions, so you can activate it even if it is being moved to the trash.

Sources

Izzy Izumi & Mimi Tachikawa (BT5-089)

  1. Q: If the Level 6 Digimon I digivolve into with this card's [Your Turn] effect has a [When Digivolving] effect, at what timing do they activate?
    A: After all of your [When Attacking] or [When your Digimon attack], and your opponent's [When your opponent's Digimon attack] effects are all resolved. (See more in Effect Resolution/Old)

Sources

Omnimon X-Anti-body (BT5-111)

  1. Q: Can I use this card's [Opponent's Turn] effect to end my opponent's Digimon's attack before their [When Attacking] effects activate?
    A: No, as this effect triggers at the same time as your opponent's [When Attacking] effects, as the Turn Player, your opponent will resolve their [When Attacking] effects fully before you can activate this effect.
  2. Q: My opponent Digimon activates their [When Attacking] effect to delete another of their Digimon that has [On Deletion] effects, I then use this card's [Opponent's Turn] effect to end that attack. Do those [On Deletion] effects activate?
    A: Yes, they activate after the attack ends.

Sources

MetalGarurumon (P-026)

  1. Q: I have a [BT3-091 Lilithmon] and [BT3-092 MaloMyotismon] and then I use this card's effect to <Digi-Burst> [BT4-077 Ghostmon], when do I use their effects when I use [BT2-109 Heat Viper] with this card?
    A: The order of effects must go [BT4-077 Ghostmon], [BT3-091 Lilithmon], and [BT3-092 MaloMyotismon].

Sources

Other Rule Changes

These ruling changes were not affected by the rule changes but were changed in a follow-up email.

De-Digivolve

Changed March 24, 2021

  1. Q: I use <De-Digivolve> while I have this Digimon as a digivolution card. Can I use the inherited effect of [P-004 Gomamon]?
    A: Yes, you can activate the effect of [P-004 Gomamon].

Sources

Digi-Burst

  1. Q: When does the effect of [BT4-077 Ghostmon] activate?
    A: Ghostmon's effect will be used after resolving the effect attached to <Digi-Burst> but will always be resolved before the effects triggered by the attached effect.

Sources

ShineGreymon (BT2-041)

Changed October 30, 2020

  1. Q: Does this card destroy multiple Digimon by reducing their DP to 0. How many times do my Labramon effects activate?
    A: Once for each destruction. Labramon will activate multiple times per destruction after all of Shinegreymon's effects are resolved.

Sources

Heat Viper (BT2-109)

Changed April 26, 2021

  1. Q: If I delete [BT3-092 MaloMyotismon] with [BT2-109 Heat Viper]. Can I use that MaloMyotismon's effect to gain 2 memory?
    A: Yes, you can gain 2 memory because Heat Viper deletes both your Digimon and your opponent's Digimon at the same time.

Sources

Lilithmon (BT3-091)

Changed Feburary 20, 2021

  1. Q: I activate [BT2-109 Heat Viper] to destroy Lilithmon and my opponent's Digimon. Does Lilithmon's effect activate?
    A: Lilithmon's effect triggers when you use option and activates after the option finishes resolving. It is not queued on the activation of the option.

Sources

DanDevimon (BT4-088)

Changed September 09, 2021

  1. Q: I check a card with a [Security] effect. Can I choose to use this card's effect first before the [Security] effect?
    A: Yes, you can. The [Security] effect and DanDevimon's [Opponent's Turn] effect trigger at the same time, so you can choose which one to use first.

Sources

Rowdy Rocker (BT5-094)

Changed February 24, 2022

  1. Q: Can I use this card to put a digivolution card under a token?
    A: Yes, you can. You cannot evolve from a Token, or put a token underneath as a digivolution card but they can have digivolution cards.

Sources

Ebonwumon (BT7-055)

Changed December 09, 2021

  1. Q: If I have multiple Digimon unsuspending during the Unsuspend Phase, when does an effect such as [BT7-072 Eyesmon] activate?
    A: It will activate before your next Digimon unsuspends.
  2. Q: If I have multiple Digimon unsuspending by an effect, when does an effect such as [BT7-072 Eyesmon] activate?
    A: It will activate after the whole effect has resolved. However, effects can still trigger by resolving the [Your Turn] effect.
  3. Q: If my opponent has a Digimon with <Reboot> as well as this card, when does that Digimon unsuspend?
    A: Digimon with <Reboot> will unsuspend after the Digimon unsuspended by the [Your Turn] effect of this card.

Sources

Zubamon (BT3-008) & Ludomon (BT3-062)

Changed June 03, 2022

  1. Q: If the cards I reveal from my deck include both a [RagnaLoardmon] card and a card with [Legend-Arms] in its type, can I choose to add 1 of them to my hand?
    A: No, you must add both cards to your hand

Sources

Lilithmon (BT3-091)

Changed End of 2021, Informed July 2022

  1. Q: I activate [BT4-100 Trident Revolver] with Lilithmon on board, I played a Tamer with a [On Play] effect and deleted a Digimon with an [On Deletion] effect. What effects go first?
    A: After resolving [BT4-100 Trident Revolver] Lilithmon's effect triggered first and activates last. Next the [On Play] and [On Deletion] triggered at the same time, so the turn player chooses their [On Play] effect to go first. The opposing player then uses [On Deletion]. After both the [On Play] and [On Deletion] are resolved, then Lilithmon can be activated. (See more in Effect Resolution)

Sources

Ginkakumon Promote (BT6-075)

Changed 15 July, 2022

  1. Q: If I have both [BT6-073 Ginkakumon] and [BT6-071 Kinkakumon] in my trash. Can I choose to place only 1 of them into this card's digivolution cards?
    A: Yes, you can choose only 1 of them to put underneath this card.

Sources

Dracmon (BT9-075)

Changed 15 July, 2022

  1. Q: When I activate [On Play] effect, among the revealed cards there is only 1 [Undead] in its traits or [Dark Animal] in its traits. Can I choose to either trash it or add it to my hand?
    A: Yes, you can choose to add it or trash it.

Sources

Advertisement