DigimonCardGame Wiki
Advertisement

Deck Creation

  1. Q: Can I include 4 copies of [ST1-03 Agumon] and [BT1-010 Agumon] in my deck?
    A: Yes. Cards are identified by their card number. As long as their card numbers are different, you can include 4 copies of two cards with the same name in your deck.
  2. Q: Can I include Digi-Egg cards in my deck?
    A: No, you can't.
  3. Q: Can I include cards other than Digi-Egg cards in my Digi-Egg deck?
    A: No, you can't.
  4. Q: Can I include five copies of the same card in my Digi-Egg deck?
    A: No. Like your regular deck, you can only include up to 4 copies of a card with the same card number in your Digi-Egg deck.
  5. Q: My deck has 45 cards, and my Digi-Egg deck has 5, adding up to a total of 50. Is my deck legal?
    A: No. Your deck must contain 50 cards on its own, with or without cards from your Digi-Egg deck.

Game Setup

  1. Q: If I don't like my starting hand, can I shuffle the cards back into my deck and redraw?
    A: No, you can't.
  2. Q: If I win rock paper scissors (or a coin flip, etc.) before the game begins, can I decide which player goes first?
    A: No, the player who wins rock paper scissors automatically goes first.
  3. Q: Do we have to determine who goes first before drawing our starting hands?
    A: Yes. Determine who goes first, then draw your starting hand.
  4. Q: When placing cards in my security stack, can I choose any cards I like from my deck?
    A: No. Place cards from the top of your deck in your security stack, one at a time. If done properly, the top card of your deck should be the bottom card of your security stack.

Unsuspend Phase

  1. Q: During this phase, can I unsuspend Tamers that have been suspended?
    A: Yes. Suspended Tamers are unsuspended during this phase.
  2. Q: Can I choose not to unsuspend Digimon and/or Tamers during this phase?
    A: No, suspended cards must be unsuspended during this phase.
  3. Q: During this phase, do I also unsuspend my opponent's Digimon and Tamers?
    A: No. Only the player whose turn it is gets to unsuspend their Digimon and Tamers.

Draw Phase

  1. Q: Can I choose not to draw cards during this phase?
    A: No, you can't. If there are 1 or more cards in your deck, you must draw from it. If you have to draw but there are no cards left in your deck, you lose the game.
  2. Q: Is there a maximum hand size?
    A: No, you can have as many cards in your hand as you like.

Breeding Phase

  1. Q: Can I choose not to hatch a Digi-Egg or move a level 3+ Digimon from the breeding area to the battle area?
    A: Yes, both hatching a new Digi-Egg and moving Digimon from the breeding area to the battle area are optional.
  2. Q: Can I hatch a new Digi-Egg when a Digimon is already in my breeding area?
    A: No, your breeding area must be empty.
  3. Q: Can I trash the Digimon in my breeding area to hatch a new Digi-Egg card?
    A: No, you can't. Digimon and Tamers can't be trashed or returned to your hand or deck unless the game rules require it.
  4. Q: Do I lose the game when my Digi-Egg deck runs out of cards?
    A: No. You won't be able to hatch new Digi-Egg cards, but you won't lose the game.
  5. Q: Do I digivolve Digimon in my breeding area during my breeding phase?
    A: No, digivolving Digimon in your breeding area takes place during your main phase.
  6. Q: I move a Digimon from my breeding area to my battle area. Does the Digimon's [On Play] effect activate?
    A: No, it doesn't. Moving a Digimon to the battle area doesn't count as playing it.

Main Phase

  1. Q: Can I digivolve a Digimon that just entered play?
    A: Yes, you can.
  2. Q: If I digivolve a Digimon the same turn it entered play, can I attack with it
    A: No. Even if you digivolve it, you can't attack with a Digimon the same turn it entered play.
  3. Q: During my breeding phase, I move a Digimon from my breeding area to the battle area. Can I attack with it this turn?
    A: Yes. Moving a Digimon to your battle area doesn't count as playing it, so you're free to attack with it.
  4. Q: I digivolve a suspended Digimon. Does this unsuspend it?
    A: No. If you digivolve a suspended Digimon, it remains suspended.
  5. Q: If I digivolve into a Digimon that has an [On Play] effect, does it activate?
    A: No. [On Play] effects don't activate with digivolution.
  6. Q: I digivolve a Digimon in my breeding area. Does its [When Digivolving] effect activate?
    A: No, you can't activate effects on Digimon in your breeding area.
  7. Q: I have a digimon whose power is being modified by an effect. What happens if I digivolve it?
    A: It depends on the effect. If the effect lacks specific conditions, or if the effect asks you to choose a Digimon that meets conditions at the time of activation, the effect persists following digivolution. If the effect applies to all Digimon that meet specific conditions, and the Digimon no longer meets those conditions following digivolution, the effect ends.
  8. Q: If a card has a play/use cost of 11 or more, can I use it if your memory gauge is at zero?
    A: No. From zero, you will only be able to move your memory counter to 10 on your opponent's side, but you need to move it to 11.
  9. Q: Can I use effects from Digimon, Tamers, and Options on Digimon in my breeding area
    A: No, you can't. Digimon in breeding areas aren't affected by card effects, and can't activate effects themselves.
  10. Q: I play a Digimon with an [On Play] effect or digivolve a Digimon with an [When Digivolving] effect, and paying the play/digivolve cost results in my memory counter moving to 1 my opponent's side. Does my Digimon's [On Play] or [When Digivolving] effect activate?
    A: Yes, it does. After resolving the effect on the card you paid for, or resolving effects resulting from that card, it becomes your opponent's turn.
  11. Q: Do effects with conditions like "If you have a Digimon with " count Digimon in my breeding area?
    A: No, Digimon in your breeding area don't count.
  12. Q: Multiple card effects have activated at the same time. What order should I resolve them in?
    A: When multiple effects activate, the player who activated those effects decides the order they resolve in.
  13. Q: Both my opponent and I have activated multiple effects at the same time. What order should we resolve them in?
    A: When multiple players activate effects at the same time, the player whose turn it is starts by resolving their card effects in whatever order they like. Then, the other player resolves their card effects in whatever order they like.
  14. Q: Can I attack my opponent's Digimon?
    A: You can attack your opponent's Digimon so long as they're suspended. You can't attack your opponent's unsuspended Digimon.
  15. Q: I attack my opponent's Digimon, starting a battle. Does this count as being "blocked"?
    A: No. Blocking occurs when a Digimon activates . Attacking an opponent's Digimon doesn't count as being blocked.
  16. Q: I have a Digimon with effects that activate on attack or at the end of attacks. Do these effects activate when my other Digimon attack?
    A: No, they only activate when the Digimon with those effects makes an attack.
  17. Q: I have a Digimon with [When Attacking] effects and multiple inherited effects. When this Digimon attacks, can I activate each effect and choose targets individually?
    A: Yes, you can.
  18. Q: When a Digimon or Tamer is deleted, returned to hand, or otherwise leaves play, do their effects applying to other cards end?
    A: It depends on the effect. If the effect timing is [Your Turn], [Opponent's Turn], or [All Turns], the effect ends once the Digimon or Tamer that activated the effect leaves play. If the effect lasts for a length of time specified by the card text ("for the turn," "until the end of your opponent's next turn," etc.), the effect persists even if the card that activated the effect leaves play.
  19. Q: I play an Option card, and paying the play cost results in my memory counter moving to 1 on my opponent's side. Does the Option card's effect activate?
    A: Yes, it does. After resolving the effect on the card you paid for, or resolving effects resulting from that card, it becomes your opponent's turn.
  20. Q: Is it possible for a Digimon's DP to be negative?
    A: No, zero is the minimum. A Digimon with a DP of zero is deleted.
  21. Q: I have an effect with (Once Per Turn) that I can choose whether or not to use. If I choose not to use the effect, can I use it later in the same turn, or does the (Once Per Turn) restriction prevent me from doing so?
    A: If you chose not to use it, the (Once Per Turn) restriction doesn't apply. You can choose to use it later in the turn.
  22. Q: When multiple card effects activate, do I decide the order of their resolution at the start, or can I choose which effect to resolve individually as I go?
    A: Choose the first effect to activate. When it finishes, choose one of the remaining effects to activate, repeating this process until all effects have been activated. If activating an effect causes a new effect to trigger, the new effect is activated first For a more detailed explanation go to Effect Resolution.
  23. Q: If a card effect gives me more than 10 memory, what happens?
    A: You can't have more than 10 memory. Any memory exceeding 10 is lost.
  24. Q: If an effect requires me to return multiple cards to my deck, do I need to tell my opponent the order I return the cards in?
    A: Yes. The order you return cards in is public information.
  25. Q: Are [When Digivolving] effects activated before or after I draw my bonus card for digivolving?
    A: Activate the effect after you draw the card for digivolving.
  26. Q: Three or more of my effects activated simultaneously. Do I decide what order they all resolve in at the start, or can I choose the order individually as I go?
    A: You can choose which effect you want to resolve, one at a time.
  27. Q: I have a Digimon with a keyword effect that activates at a specific time -- for example, [On Play]. Can I choose it with an effect that specifies Digimon with that keyword, even outside its activation timing?
    A: Yes, you can. The Digimon has the keyword effect, even if it isn't currently being activated.
  28. Q: I have a Digimon that gains a keyword effect when certain conditions are met. For example: "While you have 3 or fewer security cards, this Digimon gains <Blocker>." If I have an effect that specifies Digimon with <Blocker>, does it count this Digimon even when I have 4 or more security cards?
    A: No, it doesn't. Digimon that gain keywords under certain conditions or from an effect are only considered to have that keyword when in play in the Battle Area, and when the condition is being met. They are not considered to have the keyword at other times.
  29. Q: I have a Digimon with multiple effects that last "for the turn," or "until the end of your opponent's next turn." Do these effects end in a certain order at the end of the turn?
    A: There's no order. The effects end simultaneously at the end of the turn. If you had a Digimon with two effects, one that added DP and one that subtracted it, even if losing the positive DP bonus would cause the Digimon to reach 0 DP and leave play, the effects would end simultaneously, returning your Digimon to its original DP.
  30. Q: Do effects with [On Play], [When Digivolving], [On Deletion], [When Attacking] have to resolve at the timing specified? For example, if I have an effect with [On Deletion], am I required to activate it when the Digimon is deleted?
    A: Yes, whenever possible. However, if the effect has "can" in its text, you can choose whether or not to activate it. Effects that read "you may" (or "do <X> to do <Y>") are optional, and can be chosen not to be activated.
  31. Q: My opponent only has one Digimon in play. Can I use an effect that targets two of my opponent's Digimon? (For example: "Suspend 2 of your opponent's Digimon."
    A: Yes, the effect can still be activated even if there are less Digimon in play than the effect specifies.
  32. Q: My opponent has two Digimon in play. Can I use an effect that targets two of my opponent's Digimon and only choose one of them? (For example: "Suspend 2 of your opponent's Digimon."
    A: It depends on the effect.
    ・If the effect reads, "2 of your opponent's Digimon," it must affect two Digimon.
    ・f the effect reads, "up to 2 of your opponent's Digimon," you can choose any number of Digimon to use the effect on, up to 2.
  33. Q: For effects that refer to a "card with [X] in its name," if a card name includes [X] as part of its name, does it count even if it's not a perfect match?
    A: Yes. Effects that check for [X] in card names don't need the names to be a perfect match. For example, an effect that reads, "1 Digimon card with [Agumon] in its name" applies to "[Agumon Expert]," "[ToyAgumon]," and "[BushiAgumon]" alike.
  34. Q: I attack and my opponent blocks. Can I activate a [When Attacking] effect against my opponent's blocking Digimon to delete it or return it to its owner's hand?
    A: No, you can't. You can only activate [When Attacking] effects in the time between announcing your attack and your opponent reacting. Once your opponent announces that they're blocking, you can't activate [When Attacking] effects.

Other Rulings

  1. Q: I have a Digimon with effects that activate on attack or at the end of attacks. Do these effects activate when my other Digimon attack?
    A: No, they only activate when the Digimon with those effects makes an attack.
  2. Q: If you suspend before declaring an attack target. Do "when suspending" effects activate before [When Attacking] effects?
    A: They both activate at the same time. From Card Rulings:BT2-079
  3. Q: My effect was already triggered does the effect stop applying?
    A: No, effects that have triggered can still be activated. From Card Rulings:BT3-086 and Card Rulings:BT3-087
  4. Q: Do [On Deletion] effects activate when Security Digimon are deleted?
    A: No, Security Digimon cannot activate any effects unless they are [Security] effects. From: General Rules#Digimon Cards
  5. Q: My effect specifies "Digimon" does that include my security Digimon?
    A: No, Security Digimon are not treated as Digimon in effects. From: Card Rulings:BT3-092 and General Rules#Digimon Cards
  6. Q: I am at 0 memory, I have a card that would normally cost 11 or more memory. However, it has a condition that reduces its play cost to below 10 memory. If the condition is fulfilled, can I play this card?
    A: Yes, its play cost has been reduced so you can play this card.4
  7. Q: My opponent's effect puts cards on the bottom of my deck in any order. Which player decides the order of the cards that go to the bottom of the deck?
    A: The controller of the effect chooses, so the opponent chooses the order.

Cards with multiple Colours

  1. Q: Can a blue + green digimon be a target of an effect that targets blue digimon?
    A: Yes, a digimon with 2 or more colours are treated as digimon of all those colours.
  2. Q: Are blue + green digimon counted as 2 digimon for effects that says "For each blue and green digimon"
    A: No, for effects that say "For each digimon", you count the number of digimon that meets the condition. So it is counted as 1 digimon.
  3. Q: When I digivolve my blue + green digimon into a digimon with digivolution costs of "blue: 2 cost / green: 3 cost", which cost do I pay?
    A: You can choose to pay 2 or 3.
  4. Q: Can I use blue + green option cards if I only have digimon of 1 colour in my Battle Area, and digimon of the other colour in my breeding area?
    A: Yes, as the requirement of having both colours is met.
  5. Q: When an option card with 2 or more colours is checked from my security, can its [Security] effect activate if I don't meet all the colour requirements?
    A: Yes, [Security] effects activate regardless of colour requirements.
  6. Q: When I activate an effect that says "return a blue option card from my trash to my hand", can I return a blue + green option card to my hand?
    A: Yes, you can.
  7. Q: I only have blue digimon or Tamer in my battle area and breeding area, and I activate an effect that lets me use a blue option card from my hand. Can I use a blue + green option card from my hand with the effect?
    A: No, as the effect does not say "Ignore the colour requirements", you must still fulfil the colour requirements to use an option card, even with effects.
  8. Q: My Digimon has multiple traits or colours, can I for my effect treat it as just 1 of those colours?
    A: No, you cannot treat it as not having a trait or colour it has.

Digimon with no Level

  1. Q: What is the treatment of Digimon whose Lv. Is "-"?
    A: A Digimon whose Lv. Is "-" becomes a "Digimon without Lv.". Since it does not have Lv., It cannot evolve from that Digimon or evolve into that Digimon under normal evolution conditions. Also, it is not the target of effects that refer to Lv., Such as "Lv. X or less / or more".
  2. Q: When a "Digimon without Lv." is in the breeding area, can it move to the battle area during the breeding phase?
    A: If the Digimon has DP, it can be moved to the battle area during the breeding phase in the same way as a normal Digimon.
  3. Q: [D-Reaper] is not a Digimon in anime, but is a card with the feature "D-Reaper" in a Digimon card game treated as a Digimon?
    A: Yes, according to the rules, it is treated as a Digimon Card / Digi-Egg Card, and after it appears, it will be treated as a Digimon. The effects targeted at Digimon are also received in the same way as other Digimon.
  4. Q: Is it possible to place a "Digimon without Lv." In the evolution source of another Digimon with the effect of "Put it in the evolution source of the Digimon"?
    A: Yes. It is possible.
  5. Q: Is it possible to destroy a card by performing <De-Digivolve> on a Digimon that has an evolution source and does not have a level?
    A: Yes, even Digimon cards without Lv. Can be destroyed by hit by <De-Digivolve>.

Digimon with no Value

  1. Q: My Level 2 Digimon has no DP value. Can it gain DP from other effects?
    A: No, even if an effect is applying to give the Digimon Instance +X000 DP. The Digimon will be treated as having no DP value.

DNA Digivolution


Sources

Advertisement