DigimonCardGame Wiki
Advertisement

Global Effects

Targeting

Option Cards with no Effects

Players can use Option cards by paying their memory costs even if the effects of those Option cards will not affect the game state. As long as the colour requirements and memory requirements are satisfied. However, you will apply as many effects as you can. However, it still counts as using an Option card for effects that read "when a player uses an Option card".

However, if there is an applicable card for an Option card to target, you must choose it. If card text refers to choosing "up to" a certain number of cards, you must choose at least 1 per the Targeting rules, and if a card refers to choosing a "<number>" of cards, you must choose as many as you can.

Overlapping Previously Activated Effects

When multiple global effects overlap, any new Digimon that enters a battle area has all of the effects applied to it simultaneously.

When multiple effects that add or subtract values like DP are applied simultaneously, the final sum of all positive/negative values is applied. (Example: When a +3000 DP effect and a -5000 DP effect are applied simultaneously, 3000 – 5000 = -2000 DP is applied.)

Costs

Some effects read, "you can <X> to <Y>", "you can <Y> by <X>", "By <X>, do <Y>", "By <X>, you may <Y>".

After activating an effect like this, you can perform the action described in <Y> by meeting the condition described in <X>. This is not required, and you can choose not to do <X> if you'd prefer not to activate the effect. If the effect has (Once Per Turn) or a similar activation limit, choosing not to meet the condition for <X> will not count toward the effect's activation limit.

Additionally, you can always meet the condition for <X>, even if <Y> is currently impossible. If you do so, activating the effect will still count toward (Once Per Turn) and other activation limits.

('Example: An effect that reads, "You may trash the top card of your security stack to have 1 of your opponent's Digimon get -2000 DP for the turn" can be activated even if your opponent has no Digimon in their battle area, but it can't be activated if you have no cards in your security stack since the <Y> condition here requires you to "trash the top card of your security stack".)

"Then" Effects

Some effects read, "<X>. Then, <Y>," effectively splitting themselves into multiple parts.

When activating effects like these, first perform <X>, then perform <Y>.

You can activate these effects even if you can only activate half or none of the parts.

It is also possible to meet conditions for "<Y>" by performing "<X>". (Example: An effect that reads, "Trash the bottom digivolution card of all of your opponent's Digimon. Then, gain 1 memory for each of your opponent's Digimon with no digivolution cards" causes an opponent's Digimon to lose its only Digivolution card. The second part of the effect then occurs ("gain 1 memory for each of your opponent's Digimon with no digivolution cards"),  and since your opponent's Digimon no longer has any digivolution cards, it's counted as part of the effect, allowing you to gain 1 memory.)

Additionally, when applying effects, any other effects triggered by activating

"<X>" -> "<Y>" are considered to trigger simultaneously.

(Example: You activate an effect that reads, " Trash 1 card from the top of both players' security stacks. Then, play 1 purple or yellow Digimon card with a level of 4 or less from your trash without paying its memory cost." The first part of the effect triggers "When a card is removed from your security stack" effects, while the second part triggers [On Play] and similar effects. These effects are considered to trigger simultaneously, so the player who the effects belong to gets to decide their order of activation.)

Once Per Turn Effects

Sources

Advertisement