DigimonCardGame Wiki
DigimonCardGame Wiki
Advertisement

DNA Digivolving (ジョグレス進化 Jyoguresu Shinka, Translated: Jogress Evolution?) is an action that you can perform during your Main Phase or by card effects.

How to DNA Digivolve[]

Paildramon

DNA Digivolving is an action completed by performing these three steps in a specific order.

  1. Stack all of the Digimon specified by the DNA digivolution requirements on top of each other unsuspended, and place the card you're DNA digivolving into from your hand on top of both Digimon. The first listed colour digimon and its digivolution cards must be stacked on top of the second listed colour digimon and its digivolution cards.
    • Level Requirements: The levels listed in the DNA Digivolving reminder text.
    • Colour Requirements: The colours listed in the DNA Digivolving reminder text.
  2. Pay the Memory Cost listed only in its DNA Digivolution requirements. You do not pay the regular digivolution cost in the circles below the Play Cost.
  3. Draw 1 card as a digivolution bonus.

Effects that would be triggered from any of the 3 above actions are triggered at the same time, including [When Digivolving], after all the actions are completed.

[ST9-05 Paildramon] is an example of a Digimon that DNA Digivolves from both a blue level 4 Digimon + green level 4 Digimon for a memory cost of 0.

Rulings[]

DNA Digivolution[]

  1. Q: What is <DNA Digivolution>?
    A: It is a special digivolution requirement that combines multiple digimon and digivolves into 1 digimon. When digivolving into a digimon with DNA Digivolution, you can stack all the digimon that meet the specified DNA Digivolution requirements, then place the DNA Digivolved digimon on top of, and pay the digivolution cost to digivolve. This is called <DNA Digivolution>.
  2. Q: What are the “specified DNA Digivolution requirements” referring to?
    A: It is referring to the colour and level requirements written where <DNA Digivolution> is. If “green level 4 + blue level 4” is written, it means you can DNA Digivolve using a green level 4 digimon, and a blue level 4 digimon.
  3. Q: When I DNA Digivolve, do I draw 1 as an digivolution bonus?
    A: Yes, you get the draw 1 bonus like a normal digivolution.
  4. Q: When DNA Digivolving, do I sort the digivolution cards by level from high to low?
    A: No, you do not change the order of the digivolution cards. The digimon written on the left of the specified DNA Digivolution requirements is placed on the top of the digivolution cards, and the DIgimon written on the right is placed at the bottom of the digivolution cards, including their respective digivolution cards. For example, when your green level 4 digimon with 2 digivolution cards and your blue level 4 digimon with 1 digivolution card are used to DNA Digivolve into a digimon with the <DNA Digivolve: green level 4 + blue level 4> requirement, the green digimon and its 2 digivolution cards are stacked on top of the blue Digimon and its 1 digivolution card. Cards with lower-levels may be stacked on top of a higher-level card, but please do not change the stacking order and stack them as they are.
  5. Q: Can I DNA Digivolve my digimon that are suspended? Or can I DNA Digivolve using a unsuspended digimon, and another suspended?
    A: Yes, you can DNA Digivolve regardless if the digimon are unsuspended or suspended. When you DNA Digivolve, the digivolved digimon is always unsuspended.
  6. Q: Can I DNA Digivolve using my digimon and my opponent's digimon?
    A: No, you cannot. You can only DNA Digivolve using digimon in your own Battle Area.
  7. Q: When I DNA Digivolve using a digimon that was just played that turn, can that digimon attack after DNA Digivolving?
    A: Yes, it can. When you DNA Digivolve, even if all of the digimon that became digivolution cards were played that turn, it can attack after DNA Digivolving.
  8. Q: What happens to the effects my digimon received after DNA Digivolving?
    A: All effects received before digivolving are lost, effects that affect all digimon will be re-applied after DNA Digivolving.
  9. Q: If I used my digimon's digivolution card's [Once Per Turn] effect, then DNA Digivolve, can that effect be used again?
    A: Yes, it can. After DNA Digivolving, all effects received before that are lost, so the number of times the [Once Per Turn] effect is used is also reset.
  10. Q: If I DNA Digivolve my digimon that received the effect of “delete at the end of the turn”, is that digivolved digimon deleted at the end of that turn after?
    A: No, as all effects are lost, it is not deleted.
  11. Q: Can I DNA Digivolve using a digimon in my Breeding Area?
    A: No, you cannot.
  12. Q: Can I use effects that reduce digivolution costs such as [BT1-109 Smashed Potatoes] or [EX1-071 Win Rate: 60%] etc, to reduce the cost of DNA Digivolution?
    A: Yes, you can.
  13. Q: What happens when a DNA Digivolved digimon receives the effect of <De-Digivolve>?
    A: As a DNA Digivolved digimon is treated as 1 digimon, you trash the number of cards from the top of the Digimon stated by the <De-Digivolve> effect as per normal. Even if a DNA Digivolved Digimon is trashed, the digimon present before digivolving are not split into separate digimon.
  14. Q: If a DNA Digivolution's requirement says “green level 5 + blue level 5”, can I DNA Digivolve using 1 level 5 digimon that is both green and blue?
    A: No, DNA Digivolving requires the specified number of digimon. You can use a level 5 digimon that is both green and blue to DNA Digivolve, but you will need 1 more digimon that is either green level 5 or blue level 5.
  15. Q: If I DNA Digivolve into a digimon with DNA Digivolution requirement of “green level 5 + blue level 5” using 2 level 5 digimon that are both green and blue, how do I order the digivolution cards?
    A: You can choose which digimon to use as a green digimon, and which digimon to use as a blue digimon, and stack either one on top of the other.
  16. Q: All of my digimon have -3000 DP for the turn due to the [Security] effect of [BT4-106 Purge Shine] What happens to the DP of a digimon that DNA Digivolved that turn?
    A: The effect of -3000 DP is applied after DNA Digivolution. All effects that the digimon before DNA Digivolving are reset, but effects that affect “All of your opponent's Digimon” such as [BT4-106 Purge Shine] continue to take effect, even on digimon that appears in the Battle Area after the effect was applied. So the digimon gets -3000 DP after DNA Digivolving.
  17. Q: When DNA digivolving a suspended Digimon does my effect which says "when this Digimon unsuspends" trigger?
    A: No, DNA digivolution does not unususpend a suspended Digimon. The DNA digivolved Digimon appears in the battle area unsuspended. Even if you DNA digivolve from a suspended Digimon, effects that say "when a Digimon unsuspends" or "when this Digimon unsuspends", do not trigger.

Other Rulings[]

  1. Q: If I triggered an effect previously and activate another effect that performs DNA Digivolution. Can I activate the previously triggered effect?
    A: No, as the newly DNA Digivolved Digimon is treated as a new Digimon separate from both of its previous Digimon Instances, the original Digimon for that effect is considered no longer in the battle area.
  2. Q: Is "DNA Digivolution" considered Special Digivolution?
    A: No, both are additional digivolution requirements, but DNA Digivolution and Special Digivolution are not the same.

Sources[]

Advertisement