DigimonCardGame Wiki
Advertisement

This term is an unofficial term and used to describe a gameplay mechanic in the game of Digimon.

Digimon Instance is an instance of a Digimon in the battle area. When a Digimon is played it is played as a new Digimon instance. However, when you digivolve or de-digivolve it is considered the same Digimon instance. DNA Digivolving is an exception where a Digimon is digivolved as a new Digimon instance.

What is a "Digimon Instance"?

Referenced by Card Effects

Credits to Ted (Jason Snojax) for the Image.

Card effects in this game refer to Digimon Instances as "Digimon", and refers to the cards that have the Card Type of Digimon as "Digimon cards". A Digimon Instance is represented by a Digi-Egg or Digimon card in the Battle Area or Breeding Area. If a stack of cards in the battle area has a Tamer card on the top, it is referred to as a "Tamer" and is a Tamer Instance instead.

The cards underneath the Digimon and/or Tamer instances are referred to as "digivolution cards" by card effects. The "top digivolution card" is the card directly underneath the Digimon (top card), so it is the second card to the top. The "bottom digivolution card" is the card at the very bottom of the Digimon.

There are effects that attempt to keep the Digimon Instance alive in the battle area, but remove the top card representing the Digimon from the stack such as <De-Digivolve> and <Armor Purge>. In such cases it will refer to the top card as "the top card of the Digimon".

Leaving the Battle Area

Whenever a Digimon instance would leave the battle area, the Digimon (the top card) is sent to the designated area and all of the digivolution cards are sent to the trash unless otherwise stated by the effect.

When do Digimon retain effects?

Persistent Effects

This is an unofficial fan-made term used to refer to specific effects that apply after digivolving and de-digivolving for the purposes of shortening the following text.

These are effects are typically denoted by:

  1. Targeting a Digimon (e.g. "this Digimon", "X of your Digimon", "X of your opponent's Digimon")
  2. Lasting for a specific period of time (e.g. "for the turn", "until next end of your opponent's turn")

These effects are known to apply to the Digimon even after it has been digivolved or de-digivolved because these effects apply to the same Digimon instance. Persistent effects that had an initial targeting condition (e.g. "1 of your opponent's Digimon without digivolution cards", "1 of your Digimon with [Royal Knight] in its traits") can continue to apply even if their intial targeting condition is no longer fulfilled.5

An inherited effect that doesn't satisfy the second condition but satisfies the first condition can continue applying until the effect is lost or is no longer active (e.g. [Your Turn] becoming inactive on the opponent's turn, losing the effect by being trashed).4

Effects that apply to "all of your opponent's Digimon" or "all of your Digimon" are considered global effects and affect even new Digimon instances that appear on the field, and do not fall under this category. See more below.

Global Effects

In order to qualify as a Global Effect the effect must:

  1. Specify all of a players' Digimon. (all Digimon, all of your Digimon, all of your opponent's Digimon)
  2. Lasting for a specific period of time (e.g. "for the turn", "until next end of your opponent's turn")

Generally, effects only affect cards that were in the battle area at the moment of activation. However, Global Effects are effects that apply globally to you, your opponent, or both players ("all Digimon," "all of your Digimon," "all of your opponent's Digimon") these also apply to any Digimon that enter play or move from the Breeding Area to the Battle Area after the effect's activation.

These effects do not remain after digivolving or de-digivolving if the new Digimon does not fit the specific criteria. (e.g. [BT3-106 Beast Cyclone]'s "all of your Digimon with <Blocker> or <Reboot>" , if the new Digimon doesn't have <Blocker> or <Reboot> the Digimon loses the <Security Attack +1>).

Once Per Turn Effects

(Once Per Turn) effects are counted per card. If it is the same instance and the same card within the stack of the Digimon that had already activated its (Once Per Turn) effect, it cannot be used again in the same turn. If it is a separate Digimon instance, it is considered a different card. For a full list of examples, check the above link.

Tamer Instance

An instance is determined as a Digimon instance or a Tamer instance depending on the card that is on top of the stack. If it is a Digimon card, it is considered a Digimon instance. If it is a Tamer card, it is considered a Tamer instance.

Tamer instances cannot gain the inherited effects of the digivolution cards that are underneath it.1 If a Digimon becomes a Tamer card during an attack, it does not continue any security checks or battles it may have performed as a Digimon.4

Interaction with Card Effects

Similarly to Digimon, card effects that wish to interact with the Tamer instance will refer to "Tamer", however, if a card effect wanted to interact with the card it would refer to it as a "Tamer card".

Persistent Effects

This is an unofficial fan-made term used to refer to specific effects that apply after digivolving and de-digivolving.

Persistent Effects that were applied to a Digimon instance do not apply to the Tamer instance (e.g. [BT6-104 Parabolic Junk]'s [On Deletion] effect).2 However, if that Tamer instance becomes a Digimon again the Persistent Effects from when it was a Digimon instance will continue applying to it again.1, 3

Sources

  1. Carddass Email English 09/11/2021: Confirmation of Blast Fire Ruling in English
  2. Carddass Email English 09/11/2021: Tamers and [On Deletion]
  3. Carddass Email English 10/11/2021: Tamers and [On Deletion] Part 2
  4. Carddass Email English 18/11/2021: Effects without "for the turn"
  5. Card Rulings:ST2-14
Advertisement