DigimonCardGame Wiki
Advertisement

The Breeding Area (育成エリアIkusei eria), is an area on the playing field. It is the area where Digimon hatched from the Digi-Egg deck are placed. Digimon in this area can't activate effects, aren't affected by effects from other cards, and can't be referenced by other effects. Only 1 Digimon can be in the breeding area at a time, and Digimon in this area that digivolve to level 3 or higher can be moved to the battle area. Digimon in the battle area can’t be returned to the breeding area.

On Japanese playmats, the area is translated as the Raising Area. The Digimon Instance and cards in the Breeding Area is known to both players.

What can be done in the Breeding Area?

The actions that do see and be done in the Breeding Area are:

  • Digivolving Digimon by Digivolution Requirements.
  • Digivolving Digimon by Special Digivolution Requirements.
  • Hatching a Digi-Egg card during the Breeding Phase or by card effect.
  • Moving Digimon to the Battle Area during the Breeding Phase or by card effect.
  • Using Option cards with the same colour as the Digimon in the Breeding Area.

The following actions cannot be done in the Breeding Area:

  • Targeting Digimon in the Breeding Area with Effects that do not specify otherwise.
  • Affecting Digimon in the Breeding Area with Effects that do not specify otherwise.
  • Triggering and Activating effects in the Breeding Area that do not specify otherwise.
  • Digivolving with card effects in the Breeding Area that do not specify otherwise.

Rulings

  1. Q: Can I choose not to hatch a Digi-Egg or move a level 3+ Digimon from the breeding area to the battle area?
    A: Yes, both hatching a new Digi-Egg and moving Digimon from the breeding area to the battle area are optional.
  2. Q: Can I hatch a new Digi-Egg when a Digimon is already in my breeding area?
    A: No, your breeding area must be empty.
  3. Q: Can I trash the Digimon in my breeding area to hatch a new Digi-Egg card?
    A: No, you can't. Digimon and Tamers can't be trashed or returned to your hand or deck unless the game rules require it.
  4. Q: Do I lose the game when my Digi-Egg deck runs out of cards?
    A: No. You won't be able to hatch new Digi-Egg cards, but you won't lose the game.
  5. Q: Do I digivolve Digimon in my breeding area during my breeding phase?
    A: No, digivolving Digimon in your breeding area takes place during your main phase.
  6. Q: I move a Digimon from my breeding area to my battle area. Does the Digimon's [On Play] effect activate?
    A: No, it doesn't. Moving a Digimon to the battle area doesn't count as playing it.
  7. Q: During my breeding phase, I move a Digimon from my breeding area to the battle area. Can I attack with it this turn?
    A: Yes. Moving a Digimon to your battle area doesn't count as playing it, so you're free to attack with it.
  8. Q: I digivolve a Digimon in my breeding area. Does its [When Digivolving] effect activate?
    A: No, you can't activate effects on Digimon in your breeding area.
  9. Q: Can I use effects from Digimon, Tamers, and Options on Digimon in my breeding area
    A: No, you can't. Digimon in breeding areas aren't affected by card effects, and can't activate effects themselves.
  10. Q: Do effects with conditions like "If you have a Digimon with " count Digimon in my breeding area?
    A: No, Digimon in your breeding area don't count.
  11. Q: When a "Digimon without Lv." is in the breeding area, can it move to the battle area during the breeding phase?
    A: If the Digimon has DP, it can be moved to the battle area during the breeding phase in the same way as a normal Digimon.

Sources

Advertisement