De-Digivolve ■ Retaliation ■ Digi-Burst ■ Rush ■ Blitz ■ Delay ■ Decoy ■ Armor Purge ■ Save ■ Material Save ■ Evade
Blocker (ブロッカーBurokkā) is a triggered effect keyword introduced in ST-1: Starter Deck Gaia Red, ST-2: Starter Deck Cocytus Blue, and ST-3: Starter Deck Heaven's Yellow. It is indicated by "Blocker" on an orange background.
How it Works
A Digimon withis able to suspend itself (from an unsuspended state) in order to redirect an attack to itself. If you block with multiple Digimon only the last Digimon you blocked with will be used to calculate for battle.
What is "Blocking"?
Blocking is the action of redirecting an attack by the effect of BT5-032 Hexeblaumon]). Effects that trigger when blocked (e.g. [ST1-09 MetalGreymon]) need the attack to have been successfully redirected to trigger.. Cards that prevent blocking do not prevent you from suspending the Digimon (e.g. [
When do cards have Blocker?
Effects like [BT3-075 Craniamon] only affect cards that have the effect which allows them to block attacks. Cards that mention (e.g. [ST5-01 Kapurimon], [ST5-09 MetalGreymon]) do not count towards [BT3-075 Craniamon]'s effect. However, if [ST5-09 MetalGreymon] gives the effect to itself until the end of the opponent's next turn it will count towards [BT3-075 Craniamon]'s effect until the opponent's next turn ends.
For cards that have the Category:Blocker.effect by default in all zones and areas of the game, see
For cards that don't naturally have Category:Blocker Support.or give to a Digimon, see
- Q: If my opponent attacks with a Digimon, and I have an unsuspended Digimon with , do I have to block the attack no matter what?A: No, you can choose not to block.
- Q: If one of my Digimon is attacked, can I block the attacker?A: Yes, you can. If you do, the attack target switches to the blocking Digimon.
- Q: My opponent attacks my security stack with a Digimon that has an attack that reads, "If you attack one of your opponent's Digimon..." If I block this attack, does the effect activate?A: No, it doesn't.
- Q: I attack with a Digimon, and my opponent blocks it. Can I make a block of my own in response?A: No, can only be activated in response to an attack from an opponent's Digimon.
- Q: I have two Digimon with . Can I use both of them to block a single attack?A: No, you can't. Two Digimon with must activate their effects one at a time.
- Q: Which comes first: resolving "when attacking" effects, or declaring the use of ?A: The current Turn Player has priority, so the turn player's "when attacking" effects come first. After resolving those, the opposing player may activate and their own "when attacking" effects that activate on the opponent's attack in any order you wish.
- Q: My opponent attacks my unsuspended using [BT2-051 RustTyrannomon]. Can the block the attack?A: Yes, the Blocker can suspend itself even though it was already targeted for the attack
- Q: My opponent uses a effect to delete the currently attacking Digimon. Can I use my to suspend my Digimon?A: Yes, you can suspend the Digimon but the effect will not be able to redirect an attack.
- Q: Can I use another after I already blocked?A: Yes, if so the Digimon the attack would be redirected to the last that was activated.
- Q: My Digimon with is affected by "cannot be blocked". Can I still suspend the Digimon?A: Yes, you can still suspend the Digimon but the attack will not be redirected and your opponent's effects with "when this Digimon is blocked" will not trigger.
- Q: When is triggered and activated?A: triggers at the [Reaction] step. It is then activated while resolving effects during that step. (See more in Attack Resolution).
- Q: My Digimon was played this turn, can that Digimon activate ?A: Yes, that Digimon can still block even if it was played this turn.
- Official Q&A General Rules（05/21/21)
- Official Rulebook (Ver.2.1)（05/21/21)
- Card Rulings:BT1-082
- Carddass Email English 18/02/2021: Blocker and Chaosmon
- Carddass Email English 01/04/2021: Blocker and Deleted Digimon
- Carddass Email English 01/04/2021: Blocker and Deleted Digimon clarification
- Carddass Email English 20/04/2021: Multiple Blockers
- Carddass Email English 20/04/2021: What is "Blocking"?
- Carddass Email English 25/08/2021: What is "Blocking"? Re-Do
- Carddass Email English 13/09/2021: Unblockable Additional Confirmation
- Carddass Email English 17/01/2022: Blocking After Played